Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license from Giles Charlier.
CC BY 3.0 license from Warthog.
Before you can start your company, you'll need to understand the industry within which you will be operating. Different industries have different threats and opportunities you'll need to consider: Pending legislation or a difficult regulatory environment? High/low barriers to entry? Major competitors and market concentration? All of these are issues you will address via your industry research.
The Census Business Builder is a suite of services that provides selected data at the county and city level tailored to people looking to start a small business; includes socioeconomic and demographic data, key industry statistics, and even consumer spending data!
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. Industry reports are available at the national and state levels; survey includes large, medium and small companies representing all U.S. locations and industries.
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
A portal linking to individual industry guides that provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for more than 400 industries. Guides often include list resources available from trade associations, industry publications, research firms, and other sources addressing subjects such as industry analysis, statistics, trends, and forecasts, financial information and financial ratios, compensation and salary surveys, and business valuation resources.
Note: Be aware, industry guides linked to are not always free for full use of the resource.
A brief overview of the industry, workforce and earnings statistics, industry-specific pricing information and workplace trends.
Demographics or demographic data are the characteristics of a human population as used in government, marketing or opinion research, or the demographic profiles used in such research.
Commonly used demographics include sex, race, age, income, disabilities, mobility (in terms of travel time to work or number of vehicles available), educational attainment, home ownership, employment status, and even location.
Distributions of values within a demographic variable, and across households, are both of interest, as well as trends over time.
Primary way to access Census Bureau data, including releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. Use data.census.gov to view, print, and download statistics about population, housing, industry, and business.
DemographicsNow
Gain consumer and market insight from highly detailed demographic data on millions of U.S. businesses and consumers. This is available through the Florida Electronic Library. Be sure to select USE MY LOCATION to get access to this site.
QuickFacts provides easy access quick demographics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
Consumer Behavior
Consumer behavior is the study of consumers and the processes they use to choose, use (consume), and dispose of products and services, including consumers’ emotional, mental, and behavioral responses. These resources will help you dig into those behaviors.
The ACSI measures consumer satisfaction with more than 200 companies in 43 industries plus the federal government. Find specifics under Industries for more information.
This survey measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
From the University of Michigan, this survey provides basic information about consumer confidence, one indicator of consumer spending.
Offers an analysis of important product trends and developments for users to browse.
This site consists of two surveys that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
This freely available interactive website allows you to search for brief synopses of the lifestyle choices of those who make up specific zip codes or neighborhoods.
TV, online and mobile audience measurement; rankings and ratings in consumer media and marketing behavior.
Provides polling information on all sorts of topics.
Pew Research Center Social & Demographic Trends
This project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
The Roper center provides polling data on all sorts of public opinion topics.
Who Are Your Competitors?
You'll want to investigate the companies currently cornering the market and know what your advantages are. Try using a competitor matrix to help illustrate this.
Also, be sure you know the difference between direct and indirect competitors. For example, if you have invented a new card game, a direct competitor would be another card game company. An indirect competitor would be a board game manufacturer.
These resources are available to guide the technological development of new products and innovations.
Intellectual Property in the United States consists of patents, trademarks, and copyright. These can be valuable to entrepreneurs in a variety of ways such as helping develop and refine a product, providing protection for ideas, developing branding and marketing materials, and surveying competitors' activities.
Copyright
Website of the United States Copyright Office with information about registering a copyright and copyright searching.
PDF of basic information about copyright.
Trademark
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) provides access to text and images of registered marks, and marks in pending and abandoned applications.
Provides information and videos on basic information about Trademarks such as what a Trademark is and how to select a strong Trademark.
Additional Resources
Resources for inventors and entrepreneurs from the United States Patent and Trademark Office
So, what's next? After you've explored the resources above and are reading to take the next step, you might find additional useful information at the sites below.
Florida Small Business Development Center Network
The Florida Small Business Development Center Network delivers consulting, training, and information to help businesses succeed and create positive impact for the Florida economy.
