Citations should be double-spaced in an actual Bibliography, Works Cited, or References list, and works should be ordered alphabetically by author.
When you write information or ideas from a source in your own words, cite the source by adding an in-text citation at the end of the paraphrased portion.
Paraphrasing from One Page
Include a full in-text citation with the author name and page number (if there is one). For example:
Mother-infant attachment became a leading topic of developmental research following the publication of John Bowlby's studies (Hunt 65).
Paraphrasing from Multiple Pages
If the paraphrased information/idea is from several pages, include them. For example:
Mother-infant attachment became a leading topic of developmental research following the publication of John Bowlby's studies (Hunt 50, 55, 65-71).
If you use a MyBib or are taking a citation from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Books by a single author:
Author (last name, first). Title of Book. Publisher, year.
Feinstein, John. Benchwarmers. Farrar Straus Giroux, 2019.
Books by two authors:
First Author (last name, first), and Second Author (first name last name). Title of Book. Publisher, year.
Snell, Karen, and Johan Söderman. Hip-Hop within and without the Academy. Lexington Books, 2014.
Encyclopedia, dictionary, or handbook entry:
Author of entry, if listed (last name, first name). "Entry Heading." (When alphabetizing by entry, ignore initial articles like A, An, and The.) Title of Book, edited by (first name last name), edition (if any), volume (if any), Publisher, year, page(s). Total volumes, if known.
Tavris, Carol. “Queen Bee Syndrome.” Women’s Studies Encyclopedia, edited by Helen Tierney, vol. 1, Greenwood Press, 1989, p. 307. 3 vols.
Work in an anthology:
Author of Selection (last name, first name). "Title of Selection." Title of Anthology, edited by (first name last name), other relevant contributors, edition (if any), volume (if any), Publisher, year, page(s). Total volumes, if known.
Shanté, Roxanne. “Roxanne’s Revenge.” The Anthology of Rap, edited by Adam Bradley and Andrew DuBois, introduction by Henry Louis Gates,
Jr., afterwords by Chuck D and Common, Yale UP, 2010, pp. 283-86.
eBook or eBook section from an online database:
Cite as you would in print, followed by Name of Database, DOI (if it has a DOI, it completes the citation). If no DOI, use a permalink when available, or its URL, without https://.
Dyson, Michael Eric. Holler If You Hear Me: Searching for Tupak Shakur. Basic Civitas Books,
2006. Ebrary, site.ebrary.com.ezproxy.aacc.edu/lib/aacc/reader.action?ppg=1&docID=10464339&tm=1471210472245.
Elkin, T. David. “Pain Management.” Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy, edited by Michael Hersen, et al., vol.
3, SAGE Publications, 2005, pp. 933-36. SAGE Reference eBook Collection, doi:10.4135/9781412950534.n2085.
Website:
Author of the site. "Title of the webpage." Titles and subtitle of overall website, date of creation, web address, Accessed and the date.
The Library of Congress. "American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920." American Memory, 3 Dec.
2013, http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/lhtnhtml/lhtnhome.html. Accessed 15 May 2016.
In MLA, in-text citations are inserted in the body of your research paper to briefly document the source of your information. Brief in-text citations point the reader to more complete information in the works cited list at the end of the paper.
Note: The period goes outside the brackets, at the end of your in-text citation.
Always start your works cited on a new page.
Page title - The words Works Cited should appear centered one inch from the top of the page. If you have only 1 citation, the title should be Work Cited.
Line Spacing - Double space between each line.
Alignment - The first line of each entry should align with the left margin. All subsequent lines should be indented 5 spaces or set a hanging indent at 1/2 inch.
Order of entries - Alphabetical order by author. If there is no author, use the title of the document. If you have more than one entry by the same author, order the entries alphabetically by title, and use three hyphens in place of the author's name for every entry after the first.
